Wisconsin State Genealogical Society

About the Society

The Wisconsin State Genealogical Society (WSGS) is a statewide genealogical organization. Founded in 1939, WSGS now has members both within and outside of Wisconsin.

WSGS is a non-stock, nonprofit Wisconsin corporation whose basic purpose is to encourage, facilitate and improve the quality of genealogical study in Wisconsin and about Wisconsin families. To these ends WSGS:

  • Collects and publishes genealogical and historical material related to Wisconsin families and their forebears.
  • Conducts meetings and conferences for the instruction and interest of members.
  • Encourages the establishment of genealogical collections in libraries throughout the state.
  • Works to ensure public records in Wisconsin remain open for genealogical and historical research.

WSGS is proud to be a member of the Wisconsin Council for Local History, the Federation of Genealogical Societies, and an organizational life member of the National Genealogical Society.


 WSGS Districts
The WSGS Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and an appointed District Representative.
The current Executive Committee is:
Tina Krummel
  Tina Krummel
  (Term expires December, 2021)
Cathy Dailey  Vice President:
  Cathy Dailey
  (Term expires December, 2021)
Chris Klauer
  Chris Klauer
  (Term expires December, 2020)
Jonah Jung
  Jonah Jung
  (Term expires December, 2020)
Mary Rieder  District Representative:
  Mary Rieder
  (Term expires December, 2020)

WSGS also has the following individuals that are involved with the running of the society:
Chris Klauer
  Administrative Assistant:
  Chris Klauer
Sharon Karow  Advocacy Chair:
  Sharon Karow
Mary Rieder  Communications & Technology Chair:
  Mary Rieder
 Jonah Jung Finance & Development Chair:
  Jonah Jung
Chris Klauer  Membership Chair:
  Chris Klauer
 Tracy Reinhardt Newsletter Editor:
  Tracy Reinhardt
Sharon Karow  Nominating Chair:
  Sharon Karow
Gini Nichols  Pioneer & Century Certficates:
  Virginia Nichols
Mary Rieder  Webmasters:
  Mary Rieder
Jonah Jung  Jonah Jung
Each of Wisconsin's 72 counties belong to a WSGS District which has an elected Representative. The current District Representatives are:
Capital District (Columbia, Dane, Green and Rock Counties):
  (Term expires December, 2022)

Central District (Adams, Green Lake, Marquette, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood Counties):
 Nancy Weasner  Nancy Weasner
   (Term expires December, 2021)

Coulee District (Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe and Vernon Counties):
Joseph Kastantin  Joseph Kastantin
   (Term expires December, 2021)

East Central District (Dodge, Fond du Lac, Jefferson, Ozaukee, Sheboygan and Washington Counties):
Mary Rieder   Mary Rieder
  (Term expires December, 2020)

Metropolitan District (Milwaukee County):
 Jean Kreul Jean Kreul
  (Term expires December, 2020)

Northeastern District (Brown, Calumet, Door, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie and Winnebago Counties):
Tony La Luzerne  Tony La Luzerne
  (Term expires December, 2020)

Northwestern District (Barron, Burnett, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer and Washburn Counties):   
Cheryl Stegert   Cheryl Stegert
   (Term expires December, 2020)

Northwoods District   (Florence, Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Menomonee, Oneida, Shawano and Vilas Counties):
Sharon Karow
  Sharon Karow
  (Term expires December, 2020)

Southeastern District (Kenosha, Racine, Walworth and Waukesha Counties):
Karen Weston  Karen Weston
  (Term expires December, 2021)

Southwestern District (Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Lafayette, Richland and Sauk Counties):
Shirley Randall
  Shirley Randall 
  (Term expires December, 2020)

Superior District (Ashland, Bayfield, Douglas and Iron Counties):
  Marlene Case
  (Term expires December, 2021)

West Central District (Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, St. Croix, Taylor and Trempealeau Counties):
John Fassbender
  John Fassbender
  (Term expires December, 2022)

Operating Year: January - December 2021

Governing Board
Vice President: CATHY DAILEY
Exec Committee District Rep: MARY RIEDER
Treasurer: JONAH JUNG
District Representatives
Capital District: Vacant
Central District: NANCY WEASNER
East Central District: MARY RIEDER
Metropolitan District: JEAN KREUL
Northeastern District: TONY LA LUZERNE
Northwestern District: CHERYL STEGERT
Northwoods District: SHARON KAROW
Southeastern District: KAREN WESTON
Southwestern District: SHIRLEY RANDALL
Superior District: MARLENE CASE
West Central District: JOHN FASSBENDER
Committee Chairs
Co-Webmaster: JONAH JUNG
Co-Webmaster: MARY RIEDER
Communications & Technology: MARY RIEDER
Finance & Development: JONAH JUNG
Membership: CHRIS KLAUER
Military & Reunion Certificate: CHRIS KLAUER
Nominating: SHARON KAROW
Pioneer & Century Certificates: VIRGINIA NICHOLS
Program & Education: CHRIS KLAUER
Public Relations: CHRIS KLAUER
Publications: CHRIS KLAUER
Volunteers: CHRIS KLAUER
Webinars Co-Chair: JONAH JUNG
Webinars Co-Chair: TONY LA LUZERNE
P.O. Box 5106
Madison, WI 53705-0106
E-mail WSGS at wsgs@wsgs.org
NGS Logo
FGS Member Logo Wisconsin Council for Local History Banner